Glowing rectangular screens

Ever wondered how much time we spend in this modern, connected, electronic world staring into glowing rectangular screens ? … ofcourse not, we are too busy staring into them! You are staring into one right now, I was staring into one when I was typing this (my first blog entry by the way) … Why do we do that? Are they more interesting than the people around us, or a good book or just nature. At work I passed by someone’s workstation (By this comment the intelligent among you can guess that I work in a typical modern office with ‘Open Plan’ workplace design that is designed to promote productivity and teamwork – why that’s not true is topic for another blog) … so getting back to that workstation that I was referring to, there were no less than 6 GRSs (Glowing Rectangular Screens) – 3 computer monitors (yes 3!), one laptop, one blackberry and the now ubiquitous iPad! Is he more intelligent, tech savvy and able than the rest of us .. is he just more confused because of the contant data streams that he needs to interpret? While one my way back home in the train, I noticed 100s of people were staring like zombies into the GRS of one of the wonderful creations by the technological behemoths of today – Apple, Nokia, Blackberry

So my muse today .. is there a solution to this modern malady? I think my wandering mind may have the perfect answer – Glowing Round Screens !

6 comments on “Glowing rectangular screens

  1. […] etc .. but I want them NOW!, in my room making beautiful music. Instead, here I am looking into a GRS and tapping away to glory. Such is life! Categories: Uncategorized Comments (0) […]

  2. […] it feels a load has been taken off! I don’t have to to look into that darn GRS every few minutes. You walk around with a slight smirk on your face, silently laughing at all the […]

  3. […] knowledge and skills and enjoying wafting down the sun-kissed slopes rather than typing into this GRS? Well the answer is quite simple …. I did master the mythical art in a short span of two […]

  4. […] the world is struggling with today. Imagine the odds? Yours truly sitting here, tapping into a GRS, listening to muddy waters tormenting his Fender Telecaster through the Cadence Amayas – has […]

  5. […] does the book conjures up memories of you sitting huddled in front of your GRS, late at night. Searching frantically through multiple websites or comparing prices from a hundred […]

  6. […] next – this ranges between bursting with ideas at a given point in time to staring at blank glowing rectangular screen waiting for inspiration to […]

Leave a Reply

